Ice Storm // Pensacola, FL // JPB Photography by Jessica P. Banks

I moved to Florida from Pennsylvania, so I’m used to snow and ice.  One thing I was not prepared for was an ice storm in Florida.  Work was closed early yesterday and is closed today.

In Pennsylvania they have snow plows and salt trucks to come and prep the roads when something like this is even anticipated.  Here, on the radio, they tell you to stay off the roads and that’s all you get.  They were putting sand on the bridges.  SAND.  Sure, there is salt in the sand and the sand will help with traction, I get it.  They aren’t equipped for this here.  The local schools cancelled school on Monday for Tuesday and Wednesday not even knowing what was coming.  The courthouse closed.  A million other places closed.

There was a thought of snow, but I don’t see any.  We did get ice.  Lots of ice.  I would guess there is anywhere from 1/4 inch to 3/4 inch of ice coating my car (and everything else).

Here is a peek at what I woke up to this morning:

IceStorm01292014.BlogI spent 2 weeks in Pennsylvania over the holidays with my family.  That was enough cold for me!

I’m ready for spring and sunshine and beach weather!

2 thoughts on “Ice Storm // Pensacola, FL // JPB Photography by Jessica P. Banks

Leave a Reply

